Thyroid Disease Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is anyone worried about the D3 they consume. I've been supplementing with D3 since 2006, my levels were so low then and now I'm back up to 64, got to 80 at one point and then hip replacement knocked levels down 40 pts.

Now all this noise about D3 and poison to rats.

What about humans, harmful? I normally take 5K daily. And don't get in the SUN like I did for a lot of my life.

·
Registered
328 Posts
If I remember correctly it was a very high amount given to rats. Certainly D3 toxicity wouldn't be good for anyone or anything. But you'd have to take quite a bit. Just get levels checked. I prefer to be between 50 and 70 and that's how I've been testing.

Something to consider is Hashimotos patients tend to need more D3 than most people. I've seen multiple studies on this.

I think D3 supplementation is almost mandatory for hashimotos and hypothyroidism patients. 5000 is a good number and is what I take if I don't get any sun that day. But there are other things to consider. Vitamin K2 MK7 is important to take with it. In fact I just switched to a combination D3 K2 supplement. Magnesium is also important so eating avocados or eating pumpkin seeds should be considered. There are many forms of Magnesium supplements and some are better than others. I'm currently not taking magnesium but I did take Magnesium Glycinate in the past. Not a lot of it, but a little bit.

My levels were 20 (range 30-100) when I was first diagnosed with Hashimotos. Getting that better was likely quite helpful in my recovery.

·
Registered
328 Posts

In the above study they gave rats 2 mg of D3. Whereas, we take 125 mcg of D3 daily. So we would be taking a significantly smaller amount than they give rats. They are driving the rats to toxicity...major toxicity. If we took too much it would have similar effects.