Thyroid Disease Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hi Everyone.

I'm a complete newbbb here.

Bit of background. I'm transgender first of all.

For the past 9 months I have been progressively feeling worse and worse, and the hypo symptoms prompted me to get a Thyroid test from my GP which came back within range.

Still feeling all these symptoms that perfectly fit with Hypothyroid ( hair falling out, constantly tired, dry skin etc ) I decided to take matters into my own hands and pay for a test which also tested for thyroid antibodies.

This is my results:

THYROID FUNCTION:

Thyroid Stimulating Hormone - 2.46 ( range 0.2 - 4.2 )

Free Thyroxine - 14.58 ( range 12 - 22 )

Total T4 - 82.0 ( range 59 - 154 )

Free T3 - 4.19 ( range 3.1 - 6.8 )

THYROID ANTIBODIES

*Thyroglobulin Antibody - 401.0 ( range 0 - 115 ui/ml )

Thyroid Peroxidase - 23.0 ( range 0 -34 ui/ml )

So that leaves me with a couple of questions since I am confused that my Thyroid Peroxidase is somewhat normal....

1 ) I took these results to my GP who told me its not too much to worry about as yet....but is worth keeping an eye on in 2-3months? Is he right in saying that or just fobbing me off???

2 ) Would this result alone give me the symptoms of Hypothyroidism?

3 ) Is it worth ignoring my GP and testing for something additional, for example Thyroid Binding Globulin?, Free t4?, Reverse t3??

4 ) Should I go on any thyroid medication with these results?

I'm left feeling confused and a bit hopeless to be honest. I thought I had finally found what was up with how I was feeling, but now I'm told to do nothing.

Would appreciate any help from anyone with more knowledge than me on the topic.

Jen

·
Super Moderator
6,620 Posts
Hi Jen and welcome to the board!

Thyroid Stimulating Hormone - 2.46 ( range 0.2 - 4.2 )

Free Thyroxine - 14.58 ( range 12 - 22 )

Total T4 - 82.0 ( range 59 - 154 )

Free T3 - 4.19 ( range 3.1 - 6.8 )