Thyroid Disease Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi newbie here,

I've been on a low dose of thyroid medication for a few years no problems....that is until about almost a year ago.
Sept I had routine labs (the doc only checked Tsh)
It was 6.87

Doc told me to increase so
TSH dropped to 2.25

Then I decided to do a radical change of my diet no gluten, refined sugar, dairy ECT basically real clean diet then my TSH dropped.
TSH was .15

Then the Doc told me to go back to the original dosage.
TSH went 8.71

Then the Doc told me to increase.
TSH went to 5.

Then Doc told me to increase again
TSH was 5.27

Bloodwork every 6 weeks... So far I've gone 5 times soon to be 6th time for bloodwork. UGH!

I'm getting SO FRUSTRATED! I don't sleep well, my muscles feel weak, I get too hot by walking to fast that I feel like I'm going to pass out it's awful!!!

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated馃槉

Super Moderator
TSH is an unreliable test for thyroid hormone in system. It can lag up to 6 weeks making it useless in my opinion. If you truly want to know active thyroid hormone in blood the Free T-4 and Free T-3 tests are best. Your goal would be to be at least 1/2 range for both and up to 3/4 range depending on how you feel.

I've been using those labs for over 15 years to dial in my thyroid hormone replacement and can tell you it works.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
TSH is an unreliable test for thyroid hormone in system. It can lag up to 6 weeks making it useless in my opinion. If you truly want to know active thyroid hormone in blood the Free T-4 and Free T-3 tests are best. Your goal would be to be at least 1/2 range for both and up to 3/4 range depending on how you feel.

I've been using those labs for over 15 years to dial in my thyroid hormone replacement and can tell you it works.