Thyroid Disease Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm glad I found this forum because I've been freaking out and could really use some advice!

I've been fighting a goiter for the last 2 years. My levels have always been within range. I had high RT3 last year but got it under control with an adrenal supplement and felt great.
Then all of a sudden I started having issues again.
My RT3 and thyroid levels are still normal. I tested negative for Hashi antibodies.

I have been taking Selenium and Zinc and all B vitamins for the last year as well.

I finally asked for an Iodine blood test and my serum results were low at 46 mcg/L. Normal range is 52 - 109.

I was very excited to find the issue and bought some Potassium Iodide drops. I started myself out on a low dose .225 mcg 2 days ago. I have more energy and no brain frog which is nice, but my thyroid feels so inflamed.

I feel like I have food stuck in my throat, it's hard to swallow. I also experienced a severe panic attack last night that I still feel.

Shakes, diarrhea, anxiety.

Is this normal detox/die off? Should I stop the iodine? I am so confused because I know it's needed.
I also had to stop taking my Lithium because of this and it's been making the whole situation even harder on my mental state.

I am extremely claustrophobic and cannot stand the tightness in my throat.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, this has been extremely hard and I am very scared of every second and what it will bring.

·
Premium Member
7,065 Posts
Lithium is some times used for thyroid cancer patients to improve the uptake radioactive iodine, so I would assume the lithium is increasing uptake of "regular" iodine as well.

Could you post your latest lab results?

Have you had an ultrasound of your thyroid?

·
Premium Member
19,367 Posts